The Island of Ireland refers to the Republic of Ireland: twenty-six counties with a population of over five million organised as the Parliamentary Democratic Republic through a PR-STV electoral system with membership in the European Union since 1973, and Northern Ireland: six counties with a population of 1.9 million organised a consociational power-sharing democracy in the Northern Ireland assembly with PR-STV electoral system.

Exploration Map